Although marijuana is even legal to use recreationally in much of the country, that’s not the case in Alabama. The only legal use for the drug in this state is for medical purposes by registered patients only. It’s important to understand the marijuana laws in Alabama and the penalties you can receive if you face charges.
Alabama’s laws regarding marijuana use
If you are arrested on a marijuana violation, you can expect certain charges. Depending on the offense, you will also face significant penalties if convicted.
These drug violations are viewed as very serious in this state. The only form of marijuana that’s legal here is CBD. There are laws pertaining to the possession, sale and trafficking of marijuana in Alabama. Let’s look at them individually.
Two drug violations regarding unlawful possession of marijuana can be handed down. You can face a Class D felony if you are found to be in possession of marijuana for personal use after a previous conviction. The charge can be elevated to a Class C felony if you possess marijuana not for personal use. You can face 1–10 years in prison and a maximum fine of $15,000. If it’s a first offense, the charge is a Class A misdemeanor, which carries penalties of a year in jail and a fine of $6,000.
Sale of marijuana is charged as a Class B felony. Penalties include 2–10 years in prison and a maximum fine of $30,000.
There are various penalties for trafficking marijuana and any parts of the cannabis plant. The offense is charged as a Class A felony and carries mandatory minimum sentences based on the weight of the drug being trafficked. If convicted, you can face anywhere from three years in prison and a fine of $25,000 for 1 kilogram to 100 pounds of marijuana all the way up to life in prison without the possibility of parole if you’re found to be trafficking more than 1,000 pounds of the drug.
Who can you turn to for legal assistance?
You should never take any marijuana charges lightly. If you are arrested on possession, sale or trafficking, you need to immediately speak with an attorney. An attorney could possibly get the charges against you reduced.