In Alabama, it is unlawful to operate a motorized vehicle or vessel while under the influence of alcohol, a controlled substance or any combination of the two. The legal limit of Blood Alcohol Content for adult motorists is .08%. The legal limit for drivers under 21, school bus drivers and day care drivers is .02%. The BAC limit for drivers operating commercial vehicles in Alabama is .04%. Depending on the circumstances, most drivers face a 90-day to one-year license suspension for refusing BAC tests.
Alabama penalties for DUI
Penalties for the first DUI conviction include a 90-day license suspension, up to one year in jail, court referral evaluation and $600 to $1200 in fines. Another DUI conviction within 10 years mandates up to a year behind bars, 5 to 30 days of community service, a one-year license suspension, court referral evaluation and $1,100 to $5,100 in fines. A third conviction within 10 years warrants 60 days to a year in jail, a three-year license suspension and $2,100 to $10,100 in fines.
More on DUI penalties in Alabama
A felony DUI conviction within 10 years of the first is considered a Class C felony, carrying a 1 to 10-year prison sentence, $4,100 to $5,100 in fines, court referral evaluation and a 5-year license suspension. Other charges related to DUI offenses include Class B felony assault in the first degree, Class C felony criminally negligent homicide and homicide by vehicle or vessel. These charges could add 1 to 5 years behind bars and $500 to $2,000 in fines.
Implied consent laws require a blood, breath or urine sample from motorists stopped for DUI, or additional samples if directed by law enforcement. Motorists involved in a serious injury or death face a 2-year license suspension for refusing BAC tests.