Alabama is a state that takes driving under the influence seriously. Several factors will determine the severity of the offender’s punishment when charged with a DUI.
First offense DUI
If you are arrested in Alabama and convicted of a first offense DUI, you will face the lightest DUI penalties. This could include losing your driving privileges by having your license suspended or revoked. It could also mean facing jail time. The punishment for a DUI for someone over the age of 21 is typically stiffer than for those who get a DUI under the age of 21. Alabama offers a first-time DUI benefit.
You could face up to one year in jail for a first DUI offense or a fine from $600 to $2,100. Sometimes, the judge may assign both jail time and a penalty.
For a first offense, or the first offense within ten years, and if your blood alcohol concentration was under .15, then your driver’s privilege or license may be suspended for 90 days. Or the suspension could be reduced if you agree to have an ignition interlock device installed on your vehicle.
First offense extenuating circumstances
If it is a first offense or first offense within ten years, if a person refuses to give a blood alcohol concentration, or if a child younger than 14 years of age is a passenger in the individual charged with the DUI, a person could have their license suspended for 90 days. Once they can drive, they must have an ignition interlock device installed on their motor vehicle for at least one year. These same restrictions apply if someone else besides the driver was hurt or their blood alcohol was 0.15 or higher.
Getting a DUI in Alabama comes with stiff fines and penalties. It is best to avoid these circumstances entirely by not getting behind the wheel after consuming alcohol.